Dacity.Com

[OLD]Stupid Computer Users

Okay... So I realize that there are people in the world that actually dont know how to operate a computer. style_emoticons/default/shocked.gif However, when your computer comes with a manual that says "Quick Start Guide", or "Read me first!", or "Basics of your new computer", it should give the impression that you actually should READ the manual if you dont know the slightest bit about computers (How to turn one on, etc.).

Since I am a Microsoft IT professional, even at my young age, I still help people with "Technical issues" on their computer for a small sum of money. My dad's house is in a quite busy city, so I have some ads about myself through the town. So I get calls alot regarding their "serious issues".

But what I hate, hate, hate, is when people call me, say their computer wont start, so when I go over, I find out that it wasnt plugged in correctly. Either that, or the button on the front, that says "Power" wasnt depressed. One time I even had a man that called me saying that his hard drive was completely error-filled and he couldnt save anything on it. So I came over, feeling that I may have to format the drive, etc. So I went on his computer and looked at the hard drive, etc. and I indicated to him NOTHING was wrong. He said "Oh no, not that one, this one!" He pointed to a floppy disk on the desk. I said "Sir, this isnt a hard disk. This is a floppy disk. You can get these at Staples for less than 50 cents a piece. I suggest you buy a new one."